EP #018: 3 ways to drive engagement with images

This week I answer a few questions I've received about images on LinkedIn

Hey there - I’ve gotten a lot of questions lately about including images in a LinkedIn post. This uptick is related to data I shared about how LinkedIn posts with images receive 110% more views. To answer these questions, I wanted to share three additional insights based on my own experience using images:

#1: Not all graphics are created equally

Earlier this year, I experimented with having a designer create custom graphics for my post. Here's one example:

I experimented with posting about 10 of these generic graphics. Ultimately, I found that the graphic posts actually performed worse than my text-only posts.

That said, I've seen that our clients who post data-driven infographics specific to their industry tend to do well (vs. my posts, which tended to be about general leadership).

#2: Avoid stock photos like the plague

I always tell our clients to avoid stock photos. But I wanted to test that out for myself a few months ago. The takeaway: avoid stock photos like the plague.

Here’s an example:

This was my worst-performing post of the month.

However, there is an exception. I've been experimenting with photos for any pop culture reference. I've found that these actually work well. Here are two examples:

Where I'm at now is that I'm avoiding stock images unless they're specific pop culture references.

#3: Original photos work best

I continue to see - for myself and our clients - that original photos work incredibly well. Here are a few ideas for how to increase the number of photos you can include with your posts:

  • Get in the habit of snapping photos (or asking a team member to document):

    • Team celebrations

    • Team retreats

    • Photos with your team members (good for employee spotlights)

    • Your attendance at conferences or other industry events

    • Photos with your family (these do consistently well)

These don't have to be professional level photos. Just simple, relevant images that allow you to share your story and tag your colleagues/network.

So whenever possible, I include an original photo...but the vast majority of my posts are still text-only posts. Here’s an example: 

If you want to increase the number of posts with a photo, here's a quick tip:

Take 5 minutes to scroll through the photos on your phone. If you come across a great photo, save it. Then, tell the story behind the photo and tie it in to the work you do.

This is essentially working backwards from the photo, and can really help with generating content when you feel stuck.

I’ll be taking a break for the holidays next week, but will be back in two weeks. If you have any questions in the interim, feel free to reach out any time.

And, if you’re an executive looking to utilize LinkedIn to benefit your company, reach out - we’d love to explore working with you.

Have a great Thanksgiving,
Justin

Justin M. Nassiri | Founder & CEO
M: 650.353.1138 | E: [email protected]
250 Fillmore St Suite 150, Denver, CO 80206
www.ExecutivePresence.io

Executive Presence specializes in helping top-tier executives boost their visibility, activate their network, and position themselves as thought leaders via our premium, fully-managed LinkedIn service.

Our unique process involves ex-McKinsey, BCG, and Bain consultants conducting monthly hour-long interviews with our clients, and turning them into impactful daily LinkedIn posts to establish their unique voice and authority. On average, our clients see a 500% bump in engagement in their first 30 days with us. Data is continuously analyzed to improve engagement and identify impactful messaging that you can use for conferences, podcasts, and internal communications.

Reply

or to participate.