EP #009: How missing a post impacts performance on LinkedIn

A case study in consistency

Hey there - three-and-a-half years ago, I started actively posting content on LinkedIn.

However, in that time, I’ve taken two different breaks from posting. These breaks add up to 16 months where I wasn’t posting on LinkedIn. Here’s what that looks like:

I really regret these two breaks. Friends who kept posting during my hiatus now have an audience 5X larger than my own.

However, what I also noticed each time is how this disruption broke the momentum of my audience engagement. After each break it took several months to ramp back up to a meaningful level of engagement.

LinkedIn is a compound game. The more consistently you post, the more quickly your audience & total views grow.

The takeaway?

If you want to build a presence as an executive on LinkedIn, focus on consistency. If you can realistically only post once per week right now? Post once per week.

I would much rather see an executive post consistently once per week on LinkedIn, than post five times in one week, and then be inactive for three weeks.

The lesson that works for fitness and saving for retirement also works for LinkedIn: consistency, consistency, consistency.

Want to go deeper?

I shared my data above, but it’s not just me. We’ve got several clients who left Executive Presence… only to come back a few months later.

This gave us a rare opportunity to see how their performance on LinkedIn changed during a period of inactivity in between our work.

You can check it out here (no email required): https://www.linkedin.com/smart-links/AQFz7Pin4CL9QA

What other questions can I answer? Let me know and I’ll aim to address your question in an upcoming newsletter.

Best,
Justin

Justin M. Nassiri | Founder & CEO
M: 650.353.1138 | E: [email protected]
250 Fillmore St Suite 150, Denver, CO 80206
www.ExecutivePresence.io

We specialize in helping top-tier executives boost their visibility, activate their network, and position themselves as thought leaders via our premium, fully-managed LinkedIn service.

Our unique process involves ex-McKinsey, BCG, and Bain consultants conducting monthly hour-long interviews with our clients, and turning them into impactful daily LinkedIn posts to establish their unique voice and authority. On average, our clients see a 500% bump in engagement in their first 30 days with us. Data is continuously analyzed to improve engagement and identify impactful messaging that you can use for conferences, podcasts, and internal communications.

Reply

or to participate.